Australia Day

Australia Day Banner

2019 Australia Day Events


2019 Award Nominations Now Open

Nominations must be received by 5pm, Friday 23November 2018.

For more information about nominating, visit the following link:

Australia Day Awards

Each year the Australia Day Awards are held as part of the Wagga Wagga City Council Australia Day Ceremony. Awards categories include Citizen and Young Citizen of the Year, Ted Ryder Sports Memorial Award and the Walk of Honour.

The Sporting Hall of Fame Inductees and Local Legends are also announced on Australia Day.

Citizen of the Year Award

2017 Citizen of the Year - Dianne Jacobson

Dianne has been the driving force behind the Wagga Wagga Eisteddfod for the past 30 years. From initially helping out an afternoon tea, Dianne has held many positions over the years, including president. She is currently treasurer of the committee and is one of the many tireless volunteers that help with the eisteddfod, which brings more than 2000 people to Wagga twice a year.

Previous Citizen of the Year recipients

YearRecipient Name
2014Aunty Isobel Reid
2015Kerry Geale
2016Joe Williams
2017Dianne Jacobson
2018Phil Hoey

Young Citizen of the Year

2017 Young Citizen of the Year - Isobel Cowell

Isobel was Vice Captain at Wagga Wagga High School and achieved Honours Level for an impressive sixth time for academic, school service, community service, cultural activities and sporting achievements. She was selected in the Australian All Schools under 16 girls hockey team to tour South Africa and was also selected in the Open NSW Country Hockey team. Isobel’s achievements saw her named in the Australian Futures Squad.

Previous Young Citizen of the Year recipients

YearRecipient Name
2014Angela Burns
2015Sally Tanner
2016Hannah Kempton
2017Isobel Cowell
2018Francis Elliot-Rudder

Walk of Honour

The Baylis Street Walk of Honour was instigated in 1998 to recognise substantial contributors to the City of Wagga Wagga

The award forms part of Council's Australia Day Awards - confirming Council's belief in the importance of recognising those members of our community who have given so much of themselves to our city.

Nominations open in conjunction with the Citizen of the Year, Young Citizen of the Year and Ted Ryder Sports Memorial awards in the second half of the year and the winners are announced on Australia Day.

View the Walk of Honour Plaque locations

2017 Walk of Honour - Jim Elphick

The 2017 Walk of Honour plaque was unveiled on Friday 19th May. The 2017 recipient was Jim Elphick. Jim has been sharing his passion for tennis for almost 50 years and in 2000 the Jim Elphick Tennis Centre was named in recognition of his contribution to the sport.

Off the court, Jim wrote a book detailing the history of tennis in Wagga and with his wife Mavis was instrumental in fostering the growth of tennis in the city.

He was the inaugural president of the Wagga Wagga Tennis Association in 1971 and held that position until 1997.

Previous Walk of Honour recipients

Year Recipient Name
1998 Ada Beatrice Webb
1998 Cedric Thomas
1998 William and Amy Hurd
1998 Robert John Hurst
1998 Henry Angel
1998 Edna Busse
1998 John Hurst Edmonson
1998 Yvonne Elsie-May Gilchrist
1998 Albert Louis Burgman
1998 Jane Lindsay Scott
1999 Donald Moreton Kendell
1999 Trixie and Margaret Read
1999 Colin Campbell Knott
1999 John Ansell
1999 Henry Ernest and Morris Henry Gissing
1999 Edgar Hugh Graham
1999 Carol Moffit
1999 Leyton Selwyn "Don" Joyes
1999 Rosina Mary Grosse
2002 William George Fitzroy Huthwaite
2003 Dr Bruce William Harding
2004 Robert Lancaster Brunskill
2005 Cyril Jones
2006 George Hilton Brown
2008 Brian and Joy Kahlefeldt
2009 Michael Kennedy OAM
2010 Brian Gerald Kennedy
2011 Bill Kerr
2012 Marguerite (Madge) Wallace
2013  June Dunn 
2014  Marie & Dr William Thompson 
2015 Henry "Arthur" Nixon
2016 John Brasier

Ted Ryder Sports Memorial

2017 Ted Ryder Sports Memorial - Anthony Paul

Anthony has been president of the Wagga Wagga Water Polo Association for 22 years. He has helped the club grow from a men's competition, through to a men's and women's competition with multiple grade and a successful junior competition. Anthony has been instrumental in getting major competitions to Wagga, including the NSW Country Water Polo Championships. Outside the pool, Anthony has been involved with the Wagga Wagga Brothers, the Riverina Academy of Sport and the Sporting Hall of Fame Committee

Previous Ted Ryder Sports Memorial recipients

YearRecipient Name
2015Steven Kimball
2017Anthony Paul
2018Peter Lloyd

Sporting Hall of Fame

2017 Sporting Hall of Fame Inductee - Alicia Quirk

Starting her international playing career in 2013 at 21 years of age and reaching the highest level in her sport in 2016 at the Olympic Games. Alicia Quirk played every minute of every game during her country’s successful Olympic Games campaign in the the inaugural team of the Women’s Rugby 7’s at the Olympic Games in Rio. Alicia is Wagga’s first Olympic Gold Medalist.

To see the entire list of Sporting Hall of Fame inductees, visit the Museum of the Riverina website.

Mr Yianni JohnsAustralia Day Ambassador

The 2018 Wagga Wagga Australia Day Ambassador is Yianni Johns.

Yianni is a self-taught artist who started exhibiting his work in public in 1985. In 1991 he had his first solo exhibition in Sydney where he was involved with at the time, a very progressive art movement called loosely 'Art in Public Spaces'.

In 2002, Yianni was selected to sit for an Archibald Prize by award winning artist Peter Smeeth. This in turn led to a new gallery being born in the heard of Wyong, The Grand Gallery, which shared a space within a Bottleshop at the back of the Grand Hotel....a perfect venue for an art gallery. The charter of the Grand Gallery was, "Bringing Art Back to People".

Yianni has exhibited regularly since 1985 featuring in over 80 exhibitions. His art is collected by corporate and private collectors worldwide.

2017 Photo Gallery