Australia Day Awards

Each year the Australia Day Awards are held as part of the Wagga Wagga City Council Australia Day Ceremony. Awards categories include Citizen and Young Citizen of the Year, Ted Ryder Sports Memorial Award and the Walk of Honour.

The Sporting Hall of Fame Inductees and Local Legends are also announced on Australia Day.

For further information on the Walk of Honour click here.

For further information on the Sporting Hall of Fame click here.

2017 Award Recipients

Citizen of the Year - Dianne Jacobson

Dianne has been the driving force behind the Wagga Wagga
Eisteddfod for the past 30 years. From initially helping out an afternoon tea, Dianne has
held many positions over the years, including president. She is currently treasurer of the
committee and is one of the many tireless volunteers that help with the eisteddfod, which
brings more than 2000 people to Wagga twice a year.

To nominate for 2018 Citizen of the Year click here.

Young Citizen of the Year - Isobel Cowell

Isobel was Vice Captain at Wagga Wagga High School and achieved
Honours Level for an impressive sixth time for academic, school service, community
service, cultural activities and sporting achievements. She was selected in the Australian
All Schools under 16 girls hockey team to tour South Africa and was also selected in the
Open NSW Country Hockey team. Isobel’s achievements saw her named in the Australian
Futures Squad.

To nominate for 2018 Young Citizen of the Year click here.

Walk of Honour - Jim Elphick

Jim has been sharing his passion for tennis for almost 50 years and in 2000
the Jim Elphick Tennis Centre was named in recognition of his contribution to the sport.
Off the court, Jim wrote a book detailing the history of tennis in Wagga and with his wife
Mavis was instrumental in fostering the growth of tennis in the city. He was the inaugural
president of the Wagga Wagga Tennis Association in 1971 and held that position until

To nominate for 2018 Walk of Honour  click here.

Ted Ryder Sports Memorial - Anthony Paul

Anthony has been president of the Wagga Wagga Water Polo Association
for 22 years. He has helped the club grow from a men's competition, through to a men's
and women's competition with multiple grade and a successful junior competition. Anthony
has been instrumental in getting major competitions to Wagga, including the NSW Country
Water Polo Championships. Outside the pool, Anthony has been involved with the Wagga
Wagga Brothers, the Riverina Academy of Sport and the Sporting Hall of Fame

To nominate for 2018 Ted Ryder Sports Memorial Award for services to sport in administration fields click here.

2017 Sporting Hall of Fame Inductee - Alicia Quirk

Starting her international playing career in 2013 at 21 years of age and reaching the highest level in her sport in 2016 at the Olympic Games. Alicia Quirk played every minute of every game during her country’s successful Olympic Games campaign in the the inaugural team of the Women’s Rugby 7’s at the Olympic Games in Rio. Alicia is Wagga’s first Olympic Gold Medalist.